EAST HANTS: There will be quite a few changes in Municipality of East Hants Chambers.

Although there were previous acclamation’s in five districts, Cecil Dixon, Cyril McDonald, Eleanor Roulston, Keith Rhyno and Jim Smith were all acclaimed after running unopposed after nominations closed —other seats up for grabs went to many new faces.

Districts 3 and 6 saw currently incumbent councillors have to run against each other with the new district boundaries. Willy Versteeg and Eldon Hebb in District 3, while Wayne Greene and Greg Grant are running against each other and other candidate Nancy Pick in District 6. Hebb took the seat with a vote of 408 to Versteeg’s 172. Greene took 452 votes to Grant’s 257, while Pick gathered 54 votes.

In District 2, Stephen King took the majority of votes over incumbent Norval Mitchell by a vote of 269 to 210.

District 4, serving mostly the community of Shubenacadie had two familiar faces, as both Pam MacInnis and Kim Williams have previously served on council for the Municipality of East Hants. Incumbent Albert Flemming did not re-offer. MacInnis reclaimed the position she held on council from 2008 to 2012 with 222 votes to Williams’ 115.

Another incumbent was voted out in District 7, as John A. MacDonald lost his seat to challenger Heather Smith. Smith took 238 votes to MacDonald’s 193.

Elie (Leo) Moussa took District 9, with 154 votes over John Kingston’s 118.

All results are unofficial until Tuesday, Oct. 18.

Check back for reaction and comments from the candidates.

Previous articleUnoffical results for East Hants Council released
Next articleCameron publishes third children’s book
Abby Cameron
Abby Cameron is the Editor of The Weekly Press and the Laker. She grew up in Shubenacadie and loves serving her home community. She has been with The Weekly Press for almost 10 years. In her spare time she enjoys kayaking, coaching, and spending time with her partner and two dogs.